WHL Report: Trade deadline impacts junior league





January 10th marked the trade deadline in the WHL. With a few big-name players getting moved around and many serviceable WHLers seeing themselves in new locations. Here is a list of all the trade that happened during the leadup to the deadline:


*= Conditional **= Option


January 4th

  • Edmonton sends Aaron Irving and a 7th (2017) to Everett in exchange for Brett Kemp, Graham Millar and a 1st (2018)


January 5th

  • Swift Current sends Cole Johnson to Saskatoon for a 7th (2017) and a 5th (2018)
  • Moose Jaw moves Nikita Popugaev to Prince George for Yan Khomenko, Justin Almeida, a 5th (2017) and a 2nd (2018)
  • Saskatoon trades Jordan Henderson to Medicine Hat for a 5th (2017)


January 6th

  • Kelowna moves Jordan Borstmayer to Vancouver for a 5th (2017)
  • Kelowna gives Riley Stadel to Edmonton for a 5th (2018)
  • Prince Albert moves Reid Gardiner to Kelowna for a 5th (2017), a 1st** (2018), and a 5th* (2019)
  • Edmonton trades Kyle Yewchuk to Lethbridge for a 5th (2018)


January 8th

  • Calgary moves Carsen Twarynski and a 3rd (2018) to Kelowna for Jake Kryski
  • Vancouver sends Thomas Foster, 5th (2018), 8th (2017) to Moose Jaw for Braden Watts, 2nd (2018) and 5th (2017)
  • Lethbridge sends Ryley Lindgren and a 6th (2018) to Swift Current for Carson Dyck and a 3rd (2018)
  • Kootenay trades Zak Zborosky, Matt Alfaro and a 6th (2018) to Lethbridge for Brett Davis, Colton Kroeker, a 2nd (2018) and a 4th (2018)


January 9th

  • Victoria moves Brayden Pachal and a 6th (2017) to Prince Albert for Loch Morrision and a 4th (2017)
  • Lethbridge gives Shaun Dosanjh to Portland for a 9th (2017)
  • Vancouver sends Alec Baer to Lethbridge for a 3rd (2017)


January 10th

  • Prince Albert trades Luke Coleman and a 4th (2018) to Calgary for Jordan Stallard and a 7th (2017)
  • Vancouver moves Radovan Bondra to Prince George for Tyler Ho, Bartek Bison and a 3rd (2018)
  • Spokane sends Tanner Wishnowski to Prince George for an 8th (2018)
  • Kamloops sends Spencer Bast to Moose Jaw for an 8th (2018)
  • Edmonton trades Brendan Klatt to Moose Jaw for a 4th (2018) and a 6th* (2019)
  • Red Deer moves Josh Mahura, Jeff De Wit and a 3rd (2019) to Regina for Lane Zablocki, Dawson Barteaux, 1st (2017), 1st **(2018), and a 3rd * (2020)
  • Portland moves Jake Hobson to Swift Current for a